"Mystic City" Is The Stuff of Dreams

Mystic City (Mystic City, #1) 
 Title:  Mystic City
(Mystic City #1)
Author:  Theo Lawrence
Format:  E-galley
Length:  352 pages
Publisher:  Random House Children's Publishing
Rating:  5 Stars

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  -Goodreads


My Thoughts
This novel is just too juicy for words.
O. K., let's start at the beginning shall we?
This is the first political thriller that I have seen in YA.  The story of Aria Rose and Thomas Foster being made pawns in their families plot to monopolize New York government and by extension the mystic energy that powers it. 

Plot...Plot...and More Plot
Aria is never quite sure who to trust, it seems that everyone wants something from her.
Her parents need her for power.
Thomas needs her as a trophy.
Her friends need her prestige.
All the people in her life have everything,  but everything it seems is never enough.

Until Hunter.

He is a boy from the Depths, a rogue mystic, as far from the glitz and glamor of Aria's world as day is from night.
He is different in another way as well.  Unlike the people who surround Aria, he wants nothing from her.  Instead he wants to give her love, passion, purpose, power, and memories.
The problem?
Her family will stop at nothing to keep these two apart.
There was definitely no absent parent syndrome in this book.  If her parents got any more involved in her life, they would have been living it for her.
 That is, if they don't KILL her first.

 Technique-ly Speaking
This book is so intense that you can wait to finish each page just so that you can get to the ones after it.  The thing that makes this book so appealing is the balance that is achieved between the fantasy, thriller, and romantic aspects of this read.  No one aspect is allowed to override the other, and as a result, there are no drawn out lulls or over done actions runs; just a seamless masterpiece of book heaven.
This is a book that will keep you on your toes until the very end and you will love EVERY heart-stopping moment.
 


 My Rating:


  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

4 comments:

sarabara081 @ Forever 17 Books said...

I love intense books like this! Can't wait to read this one, thanks for sharing. :)

~Sara @ Forever 17 Books

Annette said...

Can't wait for this one. Great review!

Braine TS said...

Enjoyed this book too. Can't wait for book two, this was more Aria's book and I'm eager to learn more about Hunter.

Dazzling Mage said...

Very interesting synopsis, and you kind of make me want to pick it up! The gorgeous cover is not helping!

Nicely reviewed!

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for stopping by. I love comments, so please leave a few.