Maybe Being "Univited" Is A Good Thing

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1) Title:  Uninvited
Author:  Sophie Jordan
Format:  ERC
Length:  384 pages
Publisher:  Harper Teen
Rating:  3 Stars

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.
 


When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


My Thoughts
This book is an exercise in predictability with a descent love interest thrown in.
Good girl and sheltered princess Davy Hamilton, is devastated to learn that the perfect life that she and her parents have crafted for her can never be.
Why?
She is the carrier of the dreaded Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene.  This makes her public enemy number 1!
Great start right?
Just wait...the predictability will ensue in 3...2...1...

She loses EVERYTHING!

Boyfriend...GONE!
Great school...GONE!
Future...GONE! 

What does she get?
How does caged, branded, and treated like an animal grab you?
Oh wait, there is the bit the hot new love interest who also just happens to be caged branded and treated just as bad.


Predictable enough for you?


No?


Well... how about this?


We group all the animals together in a camp and train them to...
(cue dramatic music.)


KILL PEOPLE!

The rating for this book was only saved by Sophie Jordan's wonderful writing and the great love story going on between Davy and Sean.
Here's hoping that all of the wrongs can be made right in book two, but seeing as this is slated as a duology, and not a trilogy...that is going to be quite a tall order.


2 comments:

Jessica @ a GREAT read said...

Interesting review. :) I've heard some mixed things on this but overall people are still pretty positive about it. While it does sound predictable I think I'll still give it a shot! Fun review! :D

CLM said...

I suspect I have read enough dystopian novels to last me a lifetime but this does seem interesting! Maybe I will get it for the teenage nieces and sample before gifting it...

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for stopping by. I love comments, so please leave a few.