Ballantine Books Presents: A Sinful Deception Blog Tour and Author Blog Post




A Sinful Deception (Breconridge Brothers, #2)
 Title:  A Sinful Deception
(Breconridge Brothers #2)
Author:  Isabella Bradford
Format:  ERC
Length:  384 pages
Publication Date:  February 24, 2015
Publisher:  Ballantine Books
Rating:  4 Stars


For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the seductively charming second historical romance in Isabella Bradford's Breconridge Brothers trilogy.

Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy leads a charmed existence. As the second son of the Duke of Breconridge, he has none of the responsibilities of his older brother and all of the advantages, leaving handsome Geoffrey free to enjoy his rakish pursuits. And pursue them he does, leaving hearts fluttering all over London. But one night, at a ball teeming with high society's most sought-after beauties, only one truly intrigues him: the regal, aloof, and mysterious Miss Serena Palmer.

Magnificently dressed and wearing jewels befitting a queen, the lady is considered the prize of the season, a noble-born heiress raised in India. But even as Geoffrey's fascination grows, Serena deftly deflects his curiosity—and with good reason: Serena's exotic past contains a perilous secret that could destroy her. Yet her plan to live in safe solitude is thwarted by her hungry heart, and soon Geoffrey's passionate seduction finds her blissfully bed—and wed. Will her deception destroy her chance at happiness as Geoffrey's wife? Or will the devotion of her new husband reveal the only truth worth embracing: her undying love?


My Thoughts
A Sinful Deception, the second offering in the (Breconridge Brothers series) proves just as captivating as it's predecessor.
This time it is the secrets and  hidden passions of the exotic Indian born blossom Serena Carew, that serve to stoke passion's flame and enthrall the minds of one Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy, and readers alike.

The granddaughter of the Marquis of Allwyn, and the only surviving heir to her father's sizable fortune.
It is no wonder that the raven haired beauty with the somewhat guarded demeanor has tongues wagging and fortune hunters dogging her every footfall.

But for Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy, golden second son of the Duchy of Breconridge, the allure of young Miss Carew lies neither in the depth of her purse, nor the charms of her visage.  He it seems hears the call of a far more insistent master...the inescapable hand of kismet.
From their first furtively shared glances, to their mutual understanding and love for her native Hindi tongue, it is clear from the start that she is made for him, and he for her and no other.

That is of course if the fires of their passion and the ferocity of their love can withstand a secret from her past.
A secret of such import, that if discovered it could strip her of both her love and her fortune, and change the course of her life forever.

This is a brilliant tale of love, lies, and survival all wrapped up in the finery of English society.
In fact, it is that reliance on societal niceties that throws things off course for the first few chapters as readers sit through the superfluous back and forth of "I really like you but..." that romances of this ilk seem to demand.

If one can manage to make it through Serena and Geoffery's game of peek-a-boo with the truth of their feelings; they will find the wait and frustration well worth the reward.
As feelings deepen, desires are realized, secrets are unearthed, and schemes and disasters are averted, readers are treated to a book brimming with plot twists, great love scenes, and tied together with a very dramatic "happily ever after bow".





Guest blog for
A SINFUL DECEPTION
By Isabella Bradford

Bring on the Bling

I’m so excited for the release this week of my newest historical romance, A SINFUL DECEPTION. This is a story that’s been in my head for a long time, and I’ve always wanted to write a book that includes not just Georgian England, but the farthest corners of the British Empire. My heroine, Serena Carew, was born in India, the daughter of a English nobleman stationed there. While Serena has spent most of her life as an English lady, her Indian heritage is impossible for her to forget – and it’s also one of the things that Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy comes to love most about her.

There are many memories and experiences that make Serena who she is, but there are also some very tangible assets: the fabulous collection of jewels that she inherits from her father. I loved being able to describe Serena’s jewelry. In the 18th c., the best gemstones – emeralds, rubies, sapphires – were mined in India, and only gradually made their way back to London. Her necklaces, bracelets, rings, and earrings would have been jaw-droppers even among the aristocracy, and might well have outshone the Queen’s jewels.

One piece that Serena wears to her wedding to Lord Geoffrey is a gold turban ornament set with diamonds and emeralds, much like the one shown here. Because she remembers it in connection with her father, it’s a sentimental (if valuable) piece to her, linking her past with her new life and love.

I hope you’ll enjoy A SINFUL DECEPTION! For more about what inspires me, check out my website www.isabellabradford.com and on my Isabella Bradford Facebook page, plus my blog (written with writer BFF Loretta Chase) www.TwoNerdyHistoryGirls.com, Twitter @2nerdyhistgirls, and Pinterest: TwoNerdyHistoryGirls.


About  Isabella

Isabella Bradford is a pseudonym for Susan Holloway Scott, the award-winning author of more than forty historical novels and historical romances. Her bestselling books have been published in nineteen countries and translated into fourteen languages with more than three million copies in print. Bradford also writes as half of the Two Nerdy History Girls (twonerdyhistorygirls.com), an entertaining history blog and Twitter account (@2nerdyhistgirls) with an international following. She is a graduate of Brown University, and lives with her family outside of Philadelphia.     

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for stopping by. I love comments, so please leave a few.