Awaken To The Reality Of Anxieties, Illness, and Love In "Butterfly Dreams"

24481467 Title:  Butterfly Dreams
Author: A. Meredith Walters
Format:  eARC
Length:  TBD
Publisher:  Loveswept
Rating:  5 Stars

In a powerful romance for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and If I Stay, New York Times bestselling author A. Meredith Walters tells the story of a troubled young woman and the unforgettable guy who teaches her to live—and love—to the fullest.

She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way.

He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find. 


Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever—the only promise they have is right now -Goodreads


My Thoughts
This is a very emotionally taxing read.  Looking at the Corin Thompson that readers meet in this book's opening pages; one is compelled to either shake her or hug her.  She presents as a young woman fighting against severe mental demons in the effort to build some semblance of a life.  She has a home, a business, and has even managed a friendship or two.

The problem?

Corin wants to die.

Correction.  She is obsessed with a death that she swears is impending.
A death that she has almost, just almost, made peace with.

Until...

She meets Beckett Kingsley.  A young man learning to live on borrowed time.
Time counted down beat by beat to the rythym of his failing heart.
When a chance meeting between Corin and Beckett turns into an unlikely friendship and more.  Corin slowly finds her way past the pain of her parent's deaths, through the anxiety that steals her breath at the slightest provocation, and beyond the loneliness that she wears like a protective shroud.

She begins instead to live, love, and breathe.

So much of this read is spent coping with the pain and loneliness that both Beckett and Corin share.  As such, it is almost a relief when the two of them begin to craft the two person bubble in which they find themselves mid book.

The only problem with this newly formed bubble.  The fact that Corin is carrying a secret.  A secret that has the power to derail everything that has been so carefully building between them.
Unless the time on Beckett's clock runs out before.

This book will make you angry.  There is no way around it.  It will also make you hope, smile, laugh, and love.
Corin becomes stronger as she learns to live everyday like it is her last with Beckett.
This is not to say that she is living for Beckett.  Not the case at all.
She instead, learns that she deserves to live, and is even managing to make a difference in the lives of both her friends and her clients in the process.
For his part, Beckett learns that though life as he had known it before his diagnosis is no more; he does still have the ability to be a person, a friend, a lover, important.

This book should be a must read on the tbr on those who love reading honest stories of illness, anxiety, love, self-esteem, and healing.




About A. Meredith Walters
A. Meredith WaltersThe New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Contemporary and New Adult romances including the Bad Rep, Find You in the Dark, Reclaiming the Sand, and Twisted Love series.

Find Her:  Web / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook /

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for stopping by. I love comments, so please leave a few.